Reviews

8.9
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
9.3
Comfort
8.5
Property location
9.3
Facilities
8.3
Staff
9.3
Value
8.9

Reviews

    Erwin Oprins
    nl

    Review score

    10
    9 October 2018
    The, most beautiful street of them all, can be quiet noisy till late (02:00). Not perfect for the early sleeper.
    Perfect location, perfect atmosphere, very friendly people and at the reception Veronica can help you with everything you need or want to arrange. Very helpful!
    mary
    gb

    Review score

    9.2
    28 September 2018

    Out of the door and into the buzz

    Nothing
    Great location right in the center of the old town
    Joana Silva
    pt

    Review score

    2.9
    24 September 2018
    - our room was not in the Residence we booked, we had a room near the air conditions motors of the building so was really noisy. The window of the room was inside the balcony of a restaurant so the smell was terrible and the noise of the people and kitchen were really annoying. - the sheets had bruises - the towels has holes - we needed to take the breakfast in the original place we booked. About the breakfast, it was really basic but you could start the day with something in your stomach. - during the weekend the reception only works from 18:00 to 20:00. We only had the weekend to visit Madeira and we had this restriction in our weekend.. it was stressful to arrive on time, and we couldn’t enjoy as we wanted the place we were visiting.
    We had a really bad experience...
    Andre_WW
    de

    Review score

    8.3
    22 September 2018

    Good originally Stay in the heart of Funchal !

    Breakfast not much to choose from, nevertheless for a continental breakfast and 2 Star hotel Ok. Parking is difficult in the area, hotel in a small alley inside "Zone Velha".
    Really simple, but very good accommodation in the heart of the "Zone Velha" of Funchal. Location is excellent to discover Funchal. Cable car in 100m distance. Everything you need near by, staff friendly. Room simple but clean. Airport transport can be arranged at arrival and departure. Speak with the staff. Consider Check-In times....
    ZCMRD
    pt

    Review score

    8.8
    16 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    gb

    Review score

    10
    1 August 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Polina
    nl

    Review score

    7.9
    16 July 2018
    Breakfast is only continental meaning mostly cold sandwiches, so we only went there a couple of times. The street is quite busy, so it gets loud, and the bar music does not stop till midnight. A hairdryer would be nice. Ah yes, stay away from the Market (Mercado dos Lavradores), it's a scam for tourists. If you go, make sure not to buy anything (they'd charge you 20-25 euro per kilo of fruit and be pushful/aggressive if you refuse to pay).
    Veronika at reception is super helpful. Ask her anything, she makes you feel welcome on Madeira and can book any trip for you. This part of the city is great - it is a historic district with a distinct character and a lot of restaurants to choose from (definitely better than Lido if you are interested in experiencing some of the Funchal's authentic vibes). The room itself is spacious, clean, has a balcony (no view though, as the street is really narrow).
    Jacky
    gb

    Review score

    9.6
    24 June 2018
    need better lighting in room , no main lights in bedroom , only lamps which made it very dark.
    staff very informative and friendly, breakfast sufficient , rooms very comfortable, perfect location.
    Barbara Palmer
    gb

    Review score

    8.3
    12 June 2018

    Really enjoyed short visit B/B well situatedc

    Nothing
    Location good near cable car and plenty shops, bars, restaurants. Also, near market, promenade and bus terminal,tours situated there and bus to airport near buy on promenade.
    gb

    Review score

    10
    29 April 2018

    Best bijou Hotel in Funchal

    Wonderful location, well-appointed, friendly, helpful and cheerful staff. Strongly recommended!
    Renata
    se

    Review score

    9.6
    18 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Pola
    be

    Review score

    8.8
    14 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Philip
    gb

    Review score

    10
    10 April 2018

    Enjoyed it. Look forward to returning one day.

    A mirror in the bedroom would have been helpful.
    The helpfulness of the staff. Location of the hotel.
    Oxana
    at

    Review score

    9.6
    28 March 2018

    Excellent place to enjoy Madeira!

    Be prepared that the reception is not open all the time, so very important is to let the hotel know, when you plan to arrive.
    Great location in the old part of Funchal, next to Teleferico, sea front and with thousands of restaurants just a few meters away (I especially liked Santa Maria right next to the hotel). Spacious room with a terrace. Very friendly staff, they can also help you to book some local tours.
    Roger
    gb

    Review score

    7.5
    20 March 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Shrikar
    nl

    Review score

    9.2
    15 March 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    keefy57
    gb

    Review score

    10
    6 March 2018
    Nothing
    Fantastic location, great small hotel, with friendly staff
    Edward
    es

    Review score

    10
    1 March 2018

    Was sorry to leave, hope to return in the future.

    Having a room at the front the noise from the next door bakery was occasionally loud in the early mornings.
    Extremely friendly and helpful staff.
    Jan
    cz

    Review score

    8.3
    15 February 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    philip
    pt

    Review score

    7.5
    14 February 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
Loading reviews